

CenterPoint Energy Reports Annual Meeting Results

-- Re-elects six directors -- Ratifies the appointment of independent auditor -- Approves the 2009 Long-Term Incentive Plan

HOUSTON, April 23, 2009 /PRNewswire-FirstCall via COMTEX News Network/ -- CenterPoint Energy, Inc. (NYSE: CNP) announced that Derrill Cody, Michael P. Johnson, David M. McClanahan (president and chief executive officer), Robert T. O'Connell, Susan O. Rheney and Michael E. Shannon were re-elected to the company's board of directors at its annual meeting today. Also continuing as directors are Milton Carroll (non-executive chairman), Donald R. Campbell, O. Holcombe Crosswell, Janiece M. Longoria, Thomas F. Madison, Peter S. Wareing and Sherman W. Wolff.

(Logo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20020930/CNPLOGO)

During the annual meeting shareholders also ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company's independent auditors for 2009 and approved the company's 2009 Long-Term Incentive Plan.

CenterPoint Energy, Inc., headquartered in Houston, Texas, is a domestic energy delivery company that includes electric transmission & distribution, natural gas distribution, competitive natural gas sales and services, interstate pipelines and field services operations. The company serves more than five million metered customers primarily in Arkansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas. Assets total over \$19 billion. With about 8,800 employees, CenterPoint Energy and its predecessor companies have been in business for more than 130 years. For more information, visit the Web site at www.CenterPointEnergy.com.

SOURCE CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

http://www.centerpointenergy.com

Copyright (C) 2009 PR Newswire. All rights reserved