

CenterPoint Energy Reports Annual Meeting Results

HOUSTON, May 24, 2007 (PrimeNewswire via COMTEX News Network) -- CenterPoint Energy, Inc. (NYSE:CNP) announced that Donald R. Campbell, Milton Carroll (chairman), Michael E. Shannon and Peter S. Wareing were re-elected to the company's board of directors at its annual shareholder meeting today. Also continuing as directors are Derrill Cody, O. Holcombe Crosswell, Janiece M. Longoria, Thomas F. Madison, David M. McClanahan and Robert T. O'Connell. John T. Cater retired after 24 years of serving on the boards of CenterPoint Energy and its predecessor companies.

During the annual meeting shareholders also ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company's independent auditors for 2007 and adopted a proposal requesting the Board to take steps to provide for the annual election of all directors instead of the current classified board structure.

CenterPoint Energy, Inc., headquartered in Houston, Texas, is a domestic energy delivery company that includes electric transmission and distribution, natural gas distribution, competitive natural gas sales and services, interstate pipelines and field services operations. The company serves more than five million metered customers primarily in Arkansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas. Assets total over \$17 billion. With about 8,600 employees, CenterPoint Energy and its predecessor companies have been in business for more than 130 years. For more information, visit the Web site at www.CenterPointEnergy.com.

The CenterPoint Energy company logo is available at http://www.primenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=3588

This news release was distributed by PrimeNewswire, www.primenewswire.com

SOURCE: CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

Media:
Leticia Lowe
713-207-7702
Investors:
Marianne Paulsen
713-207-6500

(C) Copyright 2007 PrimeNewswire, Inc. All rights reserved.

News Provided by COMTEX