News Release

<< Back
Apr 22, 2010

CenterPoint Energy Reports Annual Meeting Results

HOUSTON, April 22, 2010 /PRNewswire via COMTEX News Network/ -- CenterPoint Energy, Inc. (NYSE: CNP) announced that at its annual shareholder meeting today, Donald R. Campbell, Milton Carroll (non-executive chairman), Derrill Cody, Michael P. Johnson, David M. McClanahan (president and chief executive officer), Robert T. O'Connell, Susan O. Rheney, R.A. Walker and Peter S. Wareing, were elected to serve on the board of directors for one year terms. Shareholders also ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company's independent auditors for 2010.


Also continuing as directors are O. Holcombe Crosswell, Janiece M. Longoria, Thomas F. Madison and Sherman W. Wolff. Michael E. Shannon retired after seven years of serving on the CenterPoint Energy board of directors.

Walker, 53, elected for the first time to serve on the CenterPoint Energy board, is the president and chief operating officer of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation and previously served as Anadarko's senior vice president and chief financial officer. He is a director of Temple-Inland and Western Gas Holdings, a subsidiary of Anadarko. Prior to joining Anadarko, he was a managing director for the Global Energy Group of UBS Investment Bank.

CenterPoint Energy, Inc., headquartered in Houston, Texas, is a domestic energy delivery company that includes electric transmission & distribution, natural gas distribution, competitive natural gas sales and services, interstate pipelines and field services operations. The company serves more than five million metered customers primarily in Arkansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas. Assets total nearly $20 billion. With about 8,800 employees, CenterPoint Energy and its predecessor companies have been in business for more than 135 years. For more information, visit the Web site at

    For more information contact
    Leticia Lowe
    Phone       713.207.7702
    Marianne Paulsen
    Phone       713.207.6500

SOURCE CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

Copyright (C) 2010 PR Newswire. All rights reserved

Copyright Nasdaq. Minimum 15 minutes delayed.